Skip to main content

Werewolf Kings - Chaney and Naschy

[Note: Check This $#!% Out was originally a seperate blog but is now a feature of patokon blog]

Since I was a little, little kid, I was fascinated by monsters. I don't know what touched it off, but being scared was one of my favorite pastimes. I realized early on that of all the classic monsters, The Wolfman was my favorite. Lon Chaney, Jr., son of make-up master "Man of a Thousand Faces" Lon Sr., played Larry Talbot, a poor sunovagun who... you know the story. He gets all hairy and loses all reason, acting only on primal urges. Hey! Just like puberty!
Frankenstein's monster was butt-ugly, Dracula was evil (and old), but Wolfie was a sympathetic character much like the Hulk, who struggles with the awful realization that he might be a vicious blood-thirsty killer. Also, he was cool!! If I had to choose which character to play, would I want to be stoo-pid monster, aloof and snooty vampire, or wild animal-man? Let me think... oh yeah, WILD MAN!!!!! But that's just me. Sure vampires brood nowadays and whine about their bloodlust and stuff, and the Monster has been returned to his roots (in the original book, he can talk and think and plot cold, cold, nasty-sweet REVENGE!!!! but I digress), but Wolfie was a clear representation of how man must overcome his animal urges and stop watching so much prOn!!


Ahem. I grew up idolizing Lon Chaney Jr. and The Wolfman and I devoured almost every lycanthropic masterpiece and crapfest that came out. There were a few I missed, but I was pretty sure I was up on my shape-changers. OR SO I THOUGHT!!

At last year's Tokyo Anime Festival, I ran into one of the Brothers Higa and he told me about Spanish actor Paul Naschy who only played werewolves!! Actually he did play other parts, but he was most well known for his character Waldemar Daninsky. The character debuted in "La Marca del Hombro Lobo" which was released in the States as "Frankenstein's Bloody Terror". If you get the US dvd, it explains why the distributor slapped a Frankenstein name on the poster. In an animated opening in the beginning, it explains that after the Frankenstein family gets cursed with lycanthropy, they become Wolfenstein!! (Didn't they have a castle?). Naschy is amazing! Oliver Reed amazing! I'm right in the middle of "Night of the Werewolf" and it's super mondo awesome!! It combines the gothic atmo of Hammer Horror with hot chicas! While Hammer had only Catherine Munro to keep up the sexy quotient, Naschy throws in a bevy of beauties - some good, some evil, all easy on the glazzies. I can't wait to get my hands on more Naschy wolf fare (in English). His flicks really hit the spot after running out of Hammer flicks to watch.



Make sure you






BTW, I like to link to all kinds of funky $#!% in this blog, so don't be afraid to click here and there. You might learn something.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Lazy Day

Had a lazy day today. Been working on high gear for a while now. Guess I needed a break. Today's monster: "Chicken of the Sea".

Illustration Friday "Wise"

This week the Illustration Friday's theme is "wise". I was going for a wise old pirate, but I think wizards are do "wise" better. I actually need to get working on other things, but I thought I'd get this up. Need to balance creating with promotion. Doing the illustration friday makes me do both. I'm teaching tomorrow. I wish I wasn't. I'd rather be drawing, sketching, or working on my craft. As soon as I finish I'm zooming back home to finish up some roughs for the Tom and Jerry book. All struggling artists go through this, I know. Having to work at something they don't wanna do in order to do something they do wanna do. But sometimes it eats at my soul. Deprives me of the energy I need to do my best. What do you do? You have to find your fuel. My fuel is a mixture of fear, anger, hope, pride, and desire. Fear of mediocrity, anger at my own complacency, hope that I will be discovered, pride in what I've accomplished so far, and desir...

Don't let the world beat Scott Pilgrim!

[Note: Check This $#!% Out was originally a seperate blog but is now a feature of patokon blog ] I'm hoping that "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" doesn't disappear from theaters quite yet. I love the premise - guy must defeat all seven of girl's exes in order to win her hand. I love Michael Cera, Dork Genius. I love the idea that the film lives in a comic-booky, 80's nintendo-ey world where sound effects and old school emoticons run rampant and where (according to the director) people break into fight scenes instead of musical numbers to express emotion. I live in Japan so I'm not sure when I'm gonna see it, but I already tried the game and it was the $#!%. I'm more of a board gamer/role-player kinda guy, but I used to rock an Atari 2600 and though I have a Wii, I'll never forget my old nintendo famicon. I almost bought one last week in Aki ( akihabara , the otaku mecca sometimes known as Akiba, but actually really truly pronounced Aki...